Parish and Town Council elections and vacancies

There are 32 parish and town councils within the Leeds metropolitan district. Details of the Parish Councils and how to contact the Clerk are available from the Parish and Town Council page.

Find out the results for the Parish and Town Council elections held on Thursday 4 May 2023 on the Data Mill North external link.

Current vacancies

There are currently vacancies in the office of Parish/Town Councillor for the following Parish/Town councils:

Horsforth Town Council - Brownberrie Ward

Notice is hereby given that due to the resignation of Councillor Rob Harris a casual vacancy has arisen in the office of Town Councillor for the Town Council of Horsforth, Brownberrie Ward. 

The vacancy will be filled by election if any ten local government electors for the said area submit a written request to that effect in the manner prescribed below and if no such request is made the vacancy will be filled by the Town Council. 

Any request for an election to be held to fill the vacancy must be in writing and must reach the Returning Officer, Leeds City Council, Electoral Services, Civic Hall, Calverley Street, Leeds LS1 1UR by no later than 25 March 2024. 

Dated 5 March 2024 

B. Crabtree
Clerk to Horsforth Town Council

Election results

Morley Town Council - Churwell Ward

An election was held on Thursday 21 September 2023 to fill a vacancy in the office of Morley Town Council - Churwell Ward.

Morley Town Council - Churwell Ward election results

Elected: FINNIGAN, Robert 

Candidate Description Votes
DAWSON, Neil Labour Party 248
FINNIGAN, Robert Morley Borough Independents 470
Spoilt ballots: 6

Wetherby Town Council – West Ward

An election was held on Thursday 8 February 2024 to fill a vacancy in Wetherby Town Council - West Ward.

Wetherby Town Council - West Ward election results

Thursday 8 February 2024

I, Susanna Benton, being the Deputy Returning Officer for the counting of the votes at the West Ward of Wetherby Town Council By-Election, do hereby give notice of that the number of votes recorded for each Candidate is as follows:- 

Name of CandidateDescription (if any)Number of votes
JACOBS, Anna CarolGreen Party417
MCINTEE, Lesley AnnLiberal Democrats186
OAKES, Nigel Philip 21
SMITH, ElaineConservative Party Candidate531

The number of ballot papers rejected was as follows: 

Rejection reasonNumber of ballot papers
(a) does not bear the official mark (not the unique identifying mark)0
(b) votes given for more than one candidate0
(c) writing or mark by which the voter can be identified0
(d) unmarked or void for uncertainty1

I therefore, declare that Elaine Smith is elected as Councillor for the West Ward of Wetherby Town Council. 

Signed Susanna Benton 

Contact us

Use this form to give us your comments. Do not use it to give us personal information - please contact us if you need to get in touch.