Health offer for Leeds

​Health services in the Leeds Local Offer are provided and commissioned by the NHS and Leeds City Council through Public Health. There is not one NHS for Leeds, it is organised into eight local or regional organisations. All these organisations work closely together, but it is important to know that they are different. 

Health services in the Leeds Local Offer are NHS services or Leeds City Council services, they are for everyone. 

Universal Services:
These are available in the local area without the need for a specialist assessment. You do not need to see someone else first or be referred to use universal services. 

Targeted and specialist services:
Some health services are not available unless you have specific needs. You or your child will need to be referred to get the service. 

Please use the external links on this page to find out more about the NHS in Leeds or use the ‘find services for SEN and disabilities’ button on this page to find out more information on specific health topics and services offered in Leeds.



What are Clinical Commissioning Groups?, Leeds South and East CCG, Leeds West CCG, Leeds North CCGWhat are Clinical Commissioning Groups?<div class="ExternalClass6B3C0BD5A5EB4E0597199BA3C43BA22A">The three Leeds Clinical Commissioning Groups (CCGs) are groups of General Practitioners (GPs) who also commission many of the services in Leeds. This means that they agree contracts with the other NHS trusts, and some local and voluntary organisations to provide health services. The three CCGs in Leeds are: the Leeds South and East CCG; the Leeds West CCG and the Leeds North CCG.​<span id="ms-rterangecursor-start" style="display:none;"></span><span id="ms-rterangecursor-end" style="display:none;"></span></div>
What Regional NHS organisations serve Leeds?, Yorkshire Ambulance Service, West Yorkshire Area Team, NHS England NorthWhat Regional NHS organisations serve Leeds?<div class="ExternalClass5CA1B13D55B440A7BDFBC9FBDA1AF8BA">The Yorkshire Ambulance Service maintain the fleet of ambulances and provide emergency medicine and emergency transportation for the whole Yorkshire region. They also provide non-emergency patient transportation.<br><br>NHS England is the independent organisation responsible for managing the budget and the day to day workings of the NHS. NHS England is split into four regions. Our region is the North of England Region who commission some specialist services. Our area team is the West Yorkshire Team who commission our GPs.​<span id="ms-rterangecursor-start" style="display:none;"></span><span id="ms-rterangecursor-end" style="display:none;"></span></div>
What is the NHS Constitution?, NHS constitutionWhat is the NHS Constitution?<div class="ExternalClass25CF04DE49614FDFB0A6F14C91389914">The NHS Constitution guides the NHS in everything it does, making sure that patients are involved in their treatment and care and safeguarding the future of the NHS. The Constitution, which is recognised by law, has been developed to help people to feel that they can take control and make choices over their care. It explains that by working together we can make the very best use of resources to: <br>-improve our health and wellbeing <br>-keep mentally and physically well <br>-get better when we are ill <br>-when we cannot recover, to stay as well as we can to the end of our lives. ​</div>
What is the NHS Mandate?, NHS mandateWhat is the NHS Mandate?<div class="ExternalClass6092DAF067DE47628290D8FE0CE06C96">To make sure the taxpayer has a say in how NHS money is spent, the Government provides direction and ambitions for the NHS through a document called ‘the Mandate’. The Mandate is published every year to make sure it is up-to-date, but it also sets long term ambitions to make sure the NHS is always there and always improving. NHS England must try to achieve the ambitions of the Mandate and the Secretary of State for Health will hold them to account for improving care for people.<span id="ms-rterangepaste-start"></span><span id="ms-rterangepaste-end"></span></div>
What Leeds NHS Trusts do the three CCGs commission?, Leeds Community Healthcare NHS Trust, Leeds and York Partnership NHS Trust, Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS TrustWhat Leeds NHS Trusts do the three CCGs commission?<div class="ExternalClass30E132DA637D45EE827EE34C0942E061">Leeds Community Health Care NHS Trust provide many local and community based health services. Leeds and York Partnership NHS Foundation Trust provide specialist mental health and learning disability services. Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust provide emergency and specialist treatment from Leeds General Infirmary, St. James University Hospital, Chapel Allerton Hospital, Seacroft Hospital, Wharfedale Hospital and the Leeds Dental Institute.​</div>

Live chat

Chat online now with one of our dedicated customer care advisers and receive assistance with your query straight away.



Did you find what you were looking for?

Did you find the information you were looking for?