Waste and recycling at Christmas

Christmas bin collections

Normal bin services continue until Saturday 22 December.

Between Monday 24 December and Sunday 6 January collections will be one day earlier or later than normal, with the exception of New Year’s Eve – Monday 31 December – when bins will be emptied on the usual scheduled day.

The service returns to normal on Monday 7 January.

Please put your bin out by 7am on your collection day and bring it back in again as soon as possible after emptying. Further details can be found in the Christmas bin collections calendar.

To receive handy collection day reminders straight to your phone, download the Leeds Bins app.

Bin collection day changes over the Christmas period
Usual bin collection day Christmas period collection day
Monday Sun 23 Dec Mon 31 Dec
Tuesday Mon 24 Dec Weds 2 Jan
Wednesday Thurs 27 Dec Thurs 3 Jan
Thursday Fri 28 Dec Fri 4 Jan
Friday Sat 29 Dec Sat 5 Jan
Saturday Sun 30 Dec Sun 6 Jan

What to do with different types of waste

  • Click to expand Greetings cards
  • Click to expand Wrapping paper
  • Click to expand Real Christmas trees
  • Click to expand Food waste
  • Click to expand Glass bottles and jars
  • Click to expand Polystyrene
  • Click to expand Batteries
  • Click to expand Bubble wrap
  • Click to expand Plastic packaging
  • Click to expand Shredded paper

Check what items can be recycled in your green bin or visit our A-Z of reusing, recycling and waste disposal for advice on what to do with even more unwanted items and materials.

Additional waste

To help reduce the amount of waste in your black bin, recycle all you can in your green bin.

Additional waste can be taken to any of our eight household waste recycling sites (tips).

The sites are open 7 days a week 8am-4pm and close only on Christmas Day, Boxing Day and New Year’s Day.

The Revive Leeds shops at the Kirkstall and Seacroft household waste recycling sites and other charities across Leeds would be grateful for donations of your unwanted Christmas gifts, or any other items in good condition.

Follow us on social media

Facebook

Twitter

Christmas Elf competition

Win a £20 LoveToShop voucher!

Enter our Christmas competition via our ‘RecycleforLeeds’ Twitter and Facebook accounts. All you have to do is re- tweet/share and like our pinned social media posts. The winner will announced on our social media accounts, so make sure you are following us!

Christmas Elf competition Terms and Conditions (PDF, 208KB)