Leeds City Council
  • A to Z
  • Newsroom
  • Contact us
  • Accessibility
  • A- A+

Fair access to care

Fair Access to Care (FAC) is the framework developed by the government to help decide who should receive adult community-care services from social services departments (local councils).

All social services departments have to use the same Fair Access to Care Services eligibility criteria. This is to make sure that money is spent fairly. Eligibility criteria are the conditions you have to meet to get help from us, see the documents section for more information.

The FACS eligibility criteria are divided into four categories

  • critical
  • substantial
  • moderate
  • low

These categories describe the amount of help you need and how this affects your independence.

Decisions about who should receive social care services are based on an assessment of the risks to your immediate and long term independence. We always assess people's needs before arranging and agreeing to fund services and we want to make sure that we do this in a fair way. Eligibility criteria helps staff to reach these decisions. We will always consider your individual situation.

How does it work? 
When you contact us for help we will offer you an assessment. This looks at your situation and shows what help you need. We will work out with you how much your independence is at risk if you don't receive help.  You can contact us on 0113 222 4401 or Minicom 0113 222 4410.