Norwegian Chamber Orchestra

18 March 2017

Tickets: £33.50, £30.50, £28, £22, £16.50, £12.50 (discounts available)
Book online

Music by Haydn, Mozart and Grieg.

Leeds Town Hall

Concert begins at 7.30pm

Norwegian Chamber Orchestra
Leif Ove Andsnes – director and piano

Haydn - Symphony No 95 Listen
Mozart – Piano Concerto No 20 Listen
Mozart – Piano Concerto No 22 Listen
Grieg – Holberg Suite Listen

Of the 27 piano concertos Mozart wrote, No 20 was the first of just two that were written in a minor key. Composed and premiered in 1785, it is thought that Mozart himself was the soloist at the first performance. That same year, he also penned his Piano Concerto No 22 and performed it at the annual benefit concert for the Society of Musicians where it was very well received. As well as scoring clarinets in the orchestra for the first time, Mozart introduces more themes at the start of this concerto than any other, leading us through a tapestry of music which fits perfectly together and concludes with a brilliant finale.

'Artists like Bach and Beethoven erected churches and temples on the heights. I only wanted... to build dwellings for men in which they might feel happy and at home.' Grieg

Pre-concert talk 6.45pm
Albert Room
Clive McClelland discusses the evening’s works.
Entry is free to ticket-holders for the concert but space is limited so please arrive early to avoid disappointment. 
View the brochure online for Leeds International Orchestral Season 2016/17

Your first orchestral concert? Want to know more about what to expect? View our newcomers guide 
View the seating plan for Leeds Town Hall