Leeds City Council
  • A to Z
  • Newsroom
  • Contact us
  • Accessibility
  • A- A+

Concert season

Moscow State Symphony Orchestra

7 May 2016

Music by Shostakovich and Rachmaninov.

Book Online

​Leeds Town Hall

Concert begins at 7.30pm

Moscow State Symphony Orchestra
Pavel Kogan - conductor
John Lill - piano

Shostakovich - Festive Overture Listen
Rachmaninov - Piano Concerto No 2 Listen
Shostakovich - Symphony No 5 Listen

"Our audience is organically incapable of accepting decadent, gloomy, pessimistic art. Our audience responds enthusiastically to all that is bright, clear, joyous, optimistic, life-affirming." Alexei Tolstoy on the Finale of Shostakovich's Symphony No 5  

Pre-concert talk 6.45pm
Albert Room
Mark Pallant discusses the evening’s works.
Entry is free to ticket-holders for the concert but space is limited so please arrive early to avoid disappointment.

View the brochure online for Leeds International Orchestral Season 2015/16

Your first orchestral concert? Want to know more about what to expect? View our newcomers guide
View the seating plan for Leeds Town Hall

Price:   £33.50, £30.50, £28, £22, £16.50, £12.50 (discounts available).

Contact details:   Box Office: 0113 224 3801

Additional information:  

Leeds Town Hall 

The Headrow


Civic Building


Meeting rooms


Need to let box office know in advance
Accessible to wheelchair user with assistance, accessible to mobility impaired walker, disabled toilets

Public transport  

City centre venue


Parking near to venue,

Latest events

Concert season

Horsforth Leeds City Band

06 September 2015

Horsforth Leeds City Band

Free brass band concert.

Concert season

Kippax Band

06 September 2015

Kippax Band

Free brass band concert.


A Duo from Leeds College of Music

06 September 2015

A Duo from Leeds College of Mus...

Free concert.

Concert season

NoteAbility Concert Band

13 September 2015

NoteAbility Concert Band

Lotherton Hall

Concert band performance.